The history of Carbaugh Jewelers dates back to 1901 when Edward O. Little opened a jewelry store in downtown Auburn, Indiana. Like most jewelry stores at that time, Little's Jewelry Store carried a full line of jewelry items including rings, necklaces, broaches, watches, clocks and flatware. In addition to these items the store also offered unique gift items such as victrolas and later electronic radios.
In 1915 Charles Carbaugh started working for Mr. Little as a high school student. The store moved to its present location at 108 E. 7th Street in downtown Auburn in 1917.
Over the years Edward Little and Charles Carbaugh formed a partnership that would continue until Ed Little's death in 1955. Charles took over as sole owner of the store and changed the name of the store to Carbaugh Jewelers in 1960.
In early 1962, Charles passed away and his son Robert along with his wife Betty took over as the store's owners. For the next 35 years they continued to do business at this same historic location until their retirement in 1997 when 17 year employee Mike Littlejohn purchased the store.
Mike continues to carry on the same traditions that started long ago. Original oak woodwork and original showcases are part of the present day decor as well as many pictures and displays from the store's historic past.
Copyright 2023 by Carbaugh Jewelers All rights reserved